Home > Uncategorized > Animated Lectures

Animated Lectures

I’ve been thinking a lot about two TED talks that I ran across in the early days of winter break.  The first, by Sir Ken Robinson, is interesting both for its content and its manner of presentation:







I’m curious to find out more about the RSA (which sounds rather like TED, except that it was founded in 1754!) and this Cognitive Media studio that seems to do animations for lots of interesting talks. Animators for hire??

I wonder if my artistically inclined students could do a version of this. Could my classes could become part of the “comics for serious topics” trend that includes graphic novels (such as Persepolis) and James Boyle’s Bound by Law?

Sometimes we lose students who have highly developed artistic ability but weak reading, writing, or analytical skills.  I’d like to explore ways they could use visual representation as a pathway into literary analysis.  And for the classmates of such visual learners, there’s a potential bonus: looking at texts another way always deepens the experience.

Interestingly, I’m reading The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, a novel about two fictional pioneers of the comic book genre.

I’ll put my other current favorite TED talk in a separate post so that it doesn’t overload this page.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

