Home > Uncategorized > Spring Seminar: Play or Be Played

Spring Seminar: Play or Be Played

This year I have a new extracurricular responsibility: I’m director of the seminar program at Durham Academy, which means every semester I get to choose a topic and organize a two-day learning experience for a small group of students.  I think of it as an “out of the box learning opportunity”–for me as well as the students!

This spring’s seminar focused on an industry that has a lot of appeal to students and a growing importance in the Raleigh-Durham region: game development.  Julian Cochran, my colleague in the computer department, worked with me to create a mind-expanding experience.  We called it “Play or Be Played: Game Development for the 21st Century Student.”

In an effort to share the experience as broadly as possible, I tweeted and kept a blog about it (separate from this, my personal blog).  Of the many resources contained there, this is my favorite.  My colleague Fran Wittman sent it to me with the statement, “I want to be this person!”

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

