Home > Uncategorized > Teachers for Global Classrooms Update

Teachers for Global Classrooms Update

My colleagues have gone and returned from Ghana and Morocco; there’s a group in Ukraine right now.  I confess I’m enormously relieved to be doing my own trip (to India) in the summer.  It would take so much work to extricate myself from school right now.  On the other hand, the teachers going now have classes and colleagues who are really following their experience.  They’ll return, albeit exhausted, to a school community that will have noticed their absence and presumably be eager to hear all about the trip.  There will be a teachable moment that could be leveraged to help meet the goal of the program: to get our schools thinking more globally.

When my group returns from India on July 14, well, we’ll get to sleep and recover at our leisure.  I’m fortunate to have lots of family to share the experience with.  As for focusing our schools’ attention on globalization, we’ll have to compete for attention when the school year begins.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. akgroves
    April 17, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    A very good point. I’ve wondered about how to keep a following of students and parents over the summer as well.

  2. April 17, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    I’ll probably look for ways to share my blog towards the end of the year, but it’s not going to be foremost on the mind of anyone from school. Where is the line between sharing and self promotion?

  3. April 17, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    Tina, this is great insight as to the differences between those groups going now and those going in the summer. I too am glad that I don’t have to wrestle with all of the details of being gone during the school year. However, you’ve raised a highly valuable point about the excitement among fellow faculty might not be as high for us as those gone now. The excitement of students may also be low during the summer months 😦

    I’ve assumed that the students most likely to be interested in my trip would be my AP Human Geography group. Unfortunately, most of my current students are seniors. So I’m planning to “reach out” to those who have enrolled for next year in hopes that they will follow and interact with my blog.

    I think teachers all too often struggle with the line of sharing v. self-promotion and in our quest to not cross it we end up not doing enough sharing. I’ve struggled with putting together some type of news article for my local media, as a few others have done, but where does that fall in this divide? I don’t know. 🙂 So many questions, LOL.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

