Home > India 2012 > Getting Ready for India (really)

Getting Ready for India (really)

Today I celebrated the heat and humidity of North Carolina–it’s helping me get in condition to travel in India during the monsoon!  I also got my Hepatitis vaccine and found some strong insect repellant.

The best part of preparing for the trip, though, is talking to people who know more than I do–people who’ve spent time in India or come from there, people who can recommend films or books, people who know about the history and culture.  My colleague Thomas Phu, for example, suggested these resources for understanding caste:

And I bought a couple of books for myself:

  • William Dalrymple’s Nine Lives: In Search of the Sacred in Modern India
  • Chandrahas Choudhury’s India: A Traveler’s Literary Companion

And Alex Arapoglou lent me a great source for historical background, Yasmin Khan’s book, The Great Partition: The Making of India and Pakistan.

And then I walked into Nice Price Books and found Teach Yourself Hindi staring right at me.  I bought it, of course, especially because it includes a couple of CD’s.  I have no illusions about how far I can get with the language, but sometimes one can make a good impression by showing a little effort.  Maybe a little work on Hindi will make me faster at comprehending Hindi accented English.

Time to stop accumulating resources and start reading them!

Categories: India 2012
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

