Home > India 2012 > Learning so much, even before the beginning

Learning so much, even before the beginning

Pakis, my husband, recently pointed out how much we have learned about India before setting foot in the country. Geography, climate, education system, names, religious practices, politics… So many topics we’re at least starting to become conversant with. And we’ve had wonderful suggestions from friends old and new.

Here’s a picture of my father with Ajay Bhatt, his yoga teacher. (Such a surprising concept – My father’s yoga teacher! A great piece of evidence for the global circulation of ideas and people). Ajay is from Udaipur, and he has introduced me (online) to Manish Jain at Shikshankar: the Peoples’ Institute for Rethinking Education and Development. Durham Academy parents have also given me wonderful contacts including the travel agent who organized the second half of my trip.

But now I have to stop planning and looking forward to this trip. Time to start packing and living it!

Categories: India 2012
  1. Stacy Markowitz
    June 29, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    This sounds great, Tina! I am looking forward to my turn. I have to find funding for sub coverage first, before I start the online class. I wish you wonderful, exciting and safe journeys!

    • June 29, 2012 at 10:21 pm

      Good to hear from you, Stacy. Fingers crossed that the funding will be available so you can start the class. Glad you have a few months to work on it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

