Home > India 2012 > Rocking Rajkot!

Rocking Rajkot!

Our host teacher, Mala Singh, met us at the airport when we arrived in Rajkot. She got us settled in the hotel, gave advice about shopping and food, and even got the desk clerk to write down the hotel phone number in Gujarati and English in case we get lost!

In the evening, Lisa and I took a stroll down the main street. It wasn’t nearly as overwhelming as Bangalore; it feels like a small city, which it is by Indian standards–only 1.2 million people. Interestingly, we saw no other westerners on our walk. The view from my hotel window looks uncannily like Athens!

 

 

Categories: India 2012
  1. Anne Gregory-Bepler
    July 6, 2012 at 1:27 pm

    Dear Tina,
    I have been enjoying your travel descriptions and photos so much! Thanks for taking the time from an exhausting schedule to report back to armchair travelers like me. Also, what fun to meet up with Sophia, who is even more beautiful than ever (didn’t think this was possible).
    Fondly,
    Anne GB

    • July 10, 2012 at 8:52 am

      Hi Anne. It’s great to know you’re reading all this. I’d hardly call you an armchair traveler, oh intrepid pilgrim! Hope it’s nice to spend a little time in your armchair this summer, though.

  2. Jordan Adair
    July 9, 2012 at 8:49 am

    Kind of reminds me of my first walk through the streets of Shanghai near the college campus where I spent a summer working in a high school summer program. I saw no other westerners and got plenty of stares. I guess small is a relative term in India, especially when you factor in all of the people and the huge expanse of country.

    • July 10, 2012 at 8:49 am

      Yes, Jordan, I can imagine that your experiences in Shanghai did have some similarities. Your comment makes me realize how little I really heard about those trips. Hope we’ll get to compare notes before school starts.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

