Home > Uncategorized > Goodbye TGC!

Goodbye TGC!

Teachers on the Washington MallToday I’m celebrating and sighing about the end of the Teachers for Global Classrooms program. It feels wonderful to have met the professional challenge, which was as great as any I’ve taken on since beginning teaching full time. But I’ll miss the people! We’ve been through so much together in the last year.

At this weekend’s symposium, I was one of six presenters on the subject of how we are changing our teaching as a result of TGC, so that added an element of intensity to my preparations and my experience. Here are a few highlights:

• Team India reunion! (My presentation included several pictures from our time in Bangalore. Such fun to share them with people who were there.)

• Shared a hotel room with Dana DesJardins from Chicago. Hers was one of the first names I became aware of in the online discussion forums a year ago. She was always out there getting conversations going when I was trying to figure out what to do.

• Heard great ideas from five other participants in the program—such different approaches to globalizing our curricula.

• Received lots of encouragement. What a pleasure to give a presentation to an audience that is personally supportive and intensely engaged!Reunion!

• Heard a superb presentation about how to be effective change agents. It especially focused on nuances of language—what English teacher wouldn’t love that?!

• Reconnected with awesome IREX and State Department staff. Hilary Clinton’s video presentation never happened (guess she’s kind of busy?), but we had an in-person visit from an undersecretary who made us feel important.
• Received two cool certificates and admission to alumni portals on state.gov.

Wonder what State Department alumni forums and activities will bring!

IREX certificate TGC certificate
Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. Jordan Adair
    October 8, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    Hey Tina,

    This answers my earlier question! Seems the presentation went very well, indeed. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your posts and getting a better sense of what it truly means to globalize the curriculum in your classroom. I think, however, that DA as a whole will be the beneficiary of your experiences, both teachers and students.

    What you will be able to share with us about what you learned and the ways you will be able to help us energize and expand our current curriculum are the two most important dividends of your time in India. That it was personally rewarding for you goes without saying (though you have said a great deal about that in these posts!).

    Thanks for sharing all of this with us. I am looking forward to my English 10 student blogs, and if they are half as interesting and thoughtful as yours we’ll be in great shape! I am also hopeful that your ideas will find a place in the English 9 curriculum discussions and at our departmental retreat in February. Take care!

    Jordan

    • October 8, 2012 at 9:08 pm

      Hi Jordan.
      Your question about how and what to share with the school is very much on my mind now that the program is over. As you suggest, that sharing is the point (not personal gratification)! The English department would be a great place to start. My presentation to the symposium focused on the archetype of The Other in our World Lit course; weren’t you the one who suggested that approach some years back? I’m working on ways to connect experiential and academic learning on that theme.
      It’s exciting to see you wading into the blogosphere with your Eng 10 class!
      Tina

  2. Anne Gregory-Bepler
    October 8, 2012 at 3:47 pm

    Tina,
    I’ve so enjoyed your posts, down to the title, “Seeking the Foreign and Familiar.” Each time it appeared on my email, I knew a treat was in store. Congrats on all your hard work and brave commitments…and, of course, many thanks for sharing.
    Anne GB

    • October 8, 2012 at 9:11 pm

      Anne, you’ve been a wonderful supporter! I plan to keep blogging (at least occasionally). Maybe one day I’ll entice you into the blogosphere, too!
      I’ve succeeded in persuading Sophia to blog from Granada. You might enjoy seeing how her style has evolved: http://pedestrienne.wordpress.com

  3. Deborah Marion
    October 8, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    Thanks for all of the enlightening and well crafted posts. I’ll miss seeing you in this context!
    Debbie

    • October 8, 2012 at 9:12 pm

      Thanks, Debbie. I hope I’ll be able to keep up the blogging a bit, but I also hope we’ll get more face-to-face time now that the program is over. See you soon, I hope.

  4. October 20, 2012 at 11:05 am

    I love this concept and believe it incredibly significant for teaching about the world today. How you have created a method for studying this concept, especially using literature, will be so engaging for students and help all of us be greater world citizens. Maybe we’ll solve the globe’s problems and achieve world peace! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

